Essential Items for Mummy’s Hospital Bag!

I remember the day that I packed my pregnancy hospital bag very clearly. I hate packing at the best of times, as a matter of fact, packing for a holiday can often cause me that much stress that in the end I would rather stay at home. I’d been putting off packing my hospital bag for weeks. One Saturday I woke up full of courage and decided that whilst my husband was at work I would give packing ‘the’ bag ago. An hour later, I was sat on the floor of my unborn baby’s nursery listening to sad songs, crying and a complete emotional wreck. My husband came home asking why I was so upset, somewhere between all the blubbering I remember uttering something about ‘the next time I see these things i’ll be in labour.’ Needless to say the bag packing came to an abrupt end for that day and had to resume a few days later when my hormones were not getting the better of me.

Was everything I took to the hospital absolutely essential? The answer to that question is a resounding ‘no!’ Of course, I over packed!

So, what are the essentials for mummy to be?

  • Maternity pads 2 packs (definitely don’t just take your standard sanitary towel)
  • Larger than usual underwear
  • Nursing bra (if you plan to breastfeed)
  • Breast pads
  • Disposable underwear
  • Nightie or large tee shirt for birth (perhaps take 2 so you have a change)
  • Flip flops (for walking around whilst you’re in labour, wearing when you’re in the shower)
  • Dressing gown (hospitals are usually quite warm so a thin one will do)
  • Hair bobbles/hair band (to keep your hair off your face)
  • Lip moisturiser/lip balm (e.g. chap stick)
  • Hair brush
  • Pjs or nightie for after the birth (when you are on the ward)
  • Slippers (for when you are on the ward)
  • Shower gel
  • Hair brush
  • Deodorant/roll on
  • Face moisturiser
  • Face wash
  • Toothpaste and toothbrush
  • Snacks (high energy such as lucozade, jelly sweets, cereal bars, bottled water, crisps)
  • Change for parking, using the hospital phone/TV
  • Outfit for travelling home from the hospital (something comfortable, leggings are a good idea)
  • Mobile phone and phone charger
  • Tens machine
  • Book, magazines, music – distractions for the labour

 

Leave a Reply

